Posted by: ubahleeob | September 14, 2008

Where You Worth it?

I went today and watched a friend of mine give his first talk/teaching/sermon.  I have to give him a lot of credit.  Granted, the church where he spoke might have only had 40 people in attendance,  however, with the fear of public speaking being our number one fear (we are even more afraid of it than death), I have to give him some credit.  It is a very humbling thing to be asked to teach.  However, he said something that got me  thinking and elicited quite a conversation on the way home.  He was talking about what a  great  sacrifice Jesus was for us.  Then he popped the question, “When God looks down from heaven, does he think you were worth it. Are you doing enough to warrant the sacrifice of God’s only son?”  

Kind of a tough question to answer don’t ya think?  I wish he had rephrased his question. I wish instead he had asked, “is there anything that you can do to make yourself unworthy of Christ’s death?” That is a better question.   I can’t answer his question, but I can answer mine.

No, there is nothing you can do to cause Jesus to look at your life and say, “I’m really sorry, you’ve done to much… you’ve gone to far,  I regret dying for you.”  That is the essence of grace.  That is the message of the gospel. You can’t get away from it. Yes, you can choose to avoid it, but if you want it — it is yours.   There is always a way back, there is always a road home.  No matter what, Dad is always waiting.  In this instance, it doesn’t matter what you have done, it only matters that you have decided to turn back, to listen to that voice that says “there is a better way, let’s go down that this road.  Follow me, I know the way.”  

I love my friend and I hope he continues teaching.  I just hope, in the future, he asks the right question.

peace

Leave a Reply

Categories

