Posted by: ubahleeob | May 18, 2008

This Is Home

I just got through watching the video for Switchfoot’s new tune (from Prince Caspian), This is Home. As with lot’s of the stuff the boys from San Diego release, it left me deep in thought.  … This is home, I finally found were I belong….  Kinda sounds like the the b-side of  I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For.

 But here, in these two songs, is the sum of most of our issues as a species.  We were created for something else, for a land far away. Most of us spend our lives looking to find our way back “home”.  Sadly, many bet all they have on the facade of home, for a promise,  only to have that facade fade, that promise wiped away by the realities of life.   

But I think both are right, both Bono and Jon Foreman.  I still haven’t found what I’m looking for; there is a dissatisfaction that I feel down to my bones, a voice in my mind that shouts “Is this all there is?”.   A voice that says, “I want to do more with my life than eat, work, sleep and repeat. I want to really live..”

But then, I have found my home.  Home in a relationship with the creator of  all that is, home in the love and care of the finest woman Illinois ever produced, home when I sit and stare at the vast,  wondrous  beauty that is the  Gulf of Mexico.  That is the struggle.  That is the paradox. I haven’t found it, but I know where it is.

This is home.

Responses

  1. There are times when I sit on the couch watching a movie with my beautiful wife, and cant imagine anything more perfect than that.

    But then I wonder….

    Since God created us, and we are His, can we ever be fully content in this world? Will there always be this craving we have that will not be satisfied until we are with Him.

    I love your post. Thanks.
    Jim


Leave a Reply

Categories

