Posted by: ubahleeob | April 29, 2008

Things R Not Always As They Appear

Wow, do I feel dumb.  I just got through listening to a talk on the final verses of Mark 11; the part where Jesus cleanses the Temple, kills a defenseless fig tree, and talks about moving mountains.  In the span of 50 minutes, everything I had ever thought about those passages was called into question.  To make things worse, that would make everything I had always believed (probably) wrong.  And I don’t like being wrong. (kinda odd for a guy that has perfected the art of being wrong, what can I say — I have issues)

Anyway, this has gotten me to thinking.  How much other stuff  have I put my faith in that will also prove to be wrong?  How many other things have I  taught  that will prove to be incorrect.? How much deeper does the rabbit hole go….How many more must die?????  OK, getting a bit carried away here, but you get my point.  

If not, here it is in a nutshell.  We westerners have applied western understanding to a book that was written for folks that didn’t drive Fords or Chevy’s, had never heard of the Cowboys or the Yankees, or who had ever had the  (dis)pleasure of eating a HotPocket.  We read a Biblical account and immediately think we understand what it means.  “Gosh golly, it said it, so I believe it.” I understand, but things are not always they seem. 

The belief shattering  talk I mentioned at the beginning began with a really funny Ameriquest investment video.  I would have loved to have embedded it here, but I can’t seem to master that process. I worked on million dollar fighter jets, but this stymies me.  Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEJ6HBHjt1g.

As you can see, seeing is not always believing. And that is part of the problem for us as we follow Jesus.  I have read those that blast guys like Rob Bell for trying to bring some context to the Bible.  I really don’t understand the problem.  To me it is the difference in seeing a story on a flannel graph versus seeing it in 3-D.   What are they afraid of?   I guess I am more like Dr. Johnny Fever (of WKRP fame), “give it to me straight Doctor, I can take it.”  

 I am finding that for years that hasn’t been the case. I have been told what sounded logical, context be damned. I have been fed what was more expedient for the feeder than for myself. I am beginning to understand the power of saying, “Jesus, I don’t understand this at all.” I am learning that things are not always as they appear. And I am liking the difference.

I am liking the difference a lot.

Leave a Reply

Categories

