Posted by: ubahleeob | April 11, 2008

I really need some Beach time

Anyone that knows me, knows I love the beach.   As far as I’m concerned, there is not a better place on Earth. I know, it’s hot. I know there is the threat of hurricanes.  I know prices on everything from gas to garbage bags are higher the closer you get to the beach. I know beach areas are humid and that humidity leads to the growth of some interesting insect life.  I know all of that. I know that interlopers (tourists) will come and clog the roads and trash the beach.  Yet and still, I don’t care.  Just five minutes on the beach is worth it all.  The feel of the sand between my toes.  The  sound of the water rushing in and out. That smell that is salty and fishy. Yes sir, it is just what the doctor ordered.  

Unfortunately,  I do not live very close to the beach.  No, I live in the land of lakes. Mostly manmade, these water covered cornfields are just a mere glimpse of the glory found at the shore.  The water doesn’t move, there is no smell, and if you are boating you have to look out for stumps and submerged trash (I am not kidding — I have seen the maps). I know people say they love the lake.  I think it is denial.  They settle for the lake because the beach is just too far.  They try to soothe that need to be near water with a quick fix at the lake.  The problem is, all water is not the same.   I love the fact that Jesus hung out with fisherman, they always seemed to be around the water.  I love that he always seemed to work in a trip to the beach.  If it’s good enough for Jesus, then who are we to disagree?

Responses

  1. RIGHT ON!!!! In fact…I think I’ll head down to the beach right now (sorry…hate to rub stuff in). Great photo on your banner! I wish surf looked like that right now too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

